Implementation Committee

To manage the evolution of the Chancellor’s Cluster Initiative to Increase Diversity and the Interdisciplinary Culture at UIC, an implementation committee has been appointed by the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Provost to provide responsive and consistent guidance in the faithful execution of the plan’s original goals.

The committee’s three main tasks are:

  • To serve as the repository for information regarding the status and progress for each cluster program and to produce reports related to that status and progress from time to time and as requested
  • To facilitate the hiring of the cluster program faculty, and to advise on synergistic activities that might enhance the profile of multiple clusters to a single action or hire
  • To facilitate the campus’ actions relative to the clusters (e.g. public relations, web presence, etc.)

Committee co-chairs are:

Beth Richie, professor of African American studies; criminology, law, and justice; and gender and women’s studies

Saul Weiner, professor and vice provost for planning and programs

Members of the committee include:

James Bono, associate vice provost and director, budget and program analysis

Michael Brown, professor of kinesiology and nutrition

Brian Flood, associate director, UIC News Bureau, Office of Public and Government Affairs

Tyrone Forman, professor and associate chancellor and vice provost for diversity

Anna Guevarra, associate professor and director of Asian American studies (on sabbatical AY 2015-2016)

Amalia Pallares, associate professor and director of Latin American and Latino studies

Michael Redding, executive associate chancellor for public and government affairs

Marya Schechtman, professor and associate dean of faculty affairs and interdisciplinary studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Laura Stempel, assistant vice provost for planning and programs

Renee Taylor, professor and vice provost for faculty affairs

Dibyen Majumdar, professor and senior associate dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences